Justin Oelke

Project Manager

What do your day to day job activities include?

I am currently only part time, as I am a full-time student completing my AAS in Construction Management. Day to day I assist where I am needed as I am well rounded, but my main projects are the renovation/restoration of a town home in Cottage Grove and the renovation/updating (cabinet/vanity refacing, and countertop replacement) apartments in 400 unit complex in Hopkins. Both of which I do the estimates, scheduling, material orders, installations and invoicing.

What are your credentials/past experience, for working in your position?

I stared the construction industry at the age of 15 where I was in the excavating and landscaping trades. Completed heavy equipment operating / truck driving school at age 21 followed by 2 more years of heavy equipment operating in commercial and residential excavation and underground plumbing. Around 2008 I made the transition to interior/exterior building construction. I started with a drywall and plastering company where I exceled at interior finishes (drywall installation and finishing, plaster installation and finishing, texture and painting) exterior (stucco and EIFS installation and finishing), as well as structural gypsum based fire proofing in both residential and commercial settings.

In 2015 I made the decision to move from La Crescent MN, to Minneapolis when I was hired with All Metro CSI. As All Metro specialized in exterior restoration, I started with siding and gutter installation and learned the estimating side of the industry. As we have evolved I have moved into the interior side of the restoration.

What’s the most inspiring part of your job? (What do you like the most?)

Gratification of a job well done.

In your opinion, what’s the most underrated building or construction feature that most people don’t know about?

I would have to say, all of the designs, approvals, logistics, planning and orchestration that all has to happen before construction can actually begin. Lead times on materials alone can be extensive in the overall time line of a construction project.

Who does your family include? (Children, spouses, friends, pets?)

Currently my wife Emily and my 2 dogs, Tucker and Luna. Children to come in the future.

What do you enjoy doing when you are not working? Hobbies, sports, etc.?

Hobbies are fitness, woodworking and fabrication. Activities are adventure seeking/camping, motorcycles and summer lake life at the family cabin in Glenwood MN.

What’s something interesting about yourself that you want everyone to know? (Any hidden talents or skills?)

My Father-in-Law calls me Cliffy Clavin because I have a wealth of random, useless knowledge.